What is the effect of being a representative on a British Gas account?

Options
Hi all. I'm new to the forum and also new to world of being responsible for my own utilities so please go easy if I'm oblivious to something obvious :o

So I'm a student living in a shared house, I've dealt with the utilities for the house as we all agreed it was probably for the best. We have switched from the business tariff set up by our landlords (which all our names were on) to a standard one, when I called to do this my house mates were not present, I didn't want the account solely in my name which I made clear to the operator. He told me to call when we received our welcome package to add everyone else to the account. I have just done this (I hope) but I'm a little unsure about what has actually been done. I asked the lady on the phone if she could add all of our names to the account rather than just mine, so the account would not me tied to me solely. After I had taken the phone to everyone and she had confirmed details etc I asked her to confirm the account was in all of our names, not just mine as I don't want to be the only one legally responsible for the bills. She said they had been added as representatives, and when I asked her if the account was in all of our names she said no. I explained the reason I wanted to add everyone to the account and asked if adding them as representatives would achieve it, her English wasn't the best and she just repeated a line about what representatives can do, when I repeated my query she just asked if there was anything else she could do, so I just figured I wasn't going to get an answer and left it there and try to find the answer elsewhere.

Does anybody know what the effect is, in regards to legal responsibility, of being a representative. I worry because sometimes collecting the money from my house mates is a timely process, and I don't want late payments to be impacting my credit record solely.

Thankyou for looking :)

Comments