Making it big..?

Hello Money Experts,

I am a Uni student, quite optimistically looking in the future - I have recently secured a pretty good (reaching into 40% tax band) graduate job. I have managed to gather 5-digit savings from my 2 part-time jobs too.

However, this is all not enough. Before I go any further, I don't want to sound like a spoiled brat - I have no support from parents and I treat this more like a goal, rather than a dream.

I want to increase my financial freedom and significantly improve living standards, whilst I still can (no family, good health). Ultimate goal is for my income to exceed £1m per annum.

I do not know personally anyone who would make it, so don't really have anyone to ask for advice. I don't like risk, so am looking for something I could do in my spare time (after work) that could get me to my goal. Corporate salary won't buy me a property in central London or New York, for example. I would imagine myself in real estate/property, but don't really know how to start. I have also looked into shares/bonds (long-term), but this requires more time, which I don't really have.

I wouldn't really want to quit the job I had fought for so much to take any other risks now, unless I had minimised it and increased odds of success being self-employed - which I haven't done, due to not knowing where/how to go.

What would you advise?

Regards,
Swizzy

Comments

• System
    System Posts: 178,093 Community Admin
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Try this thread for ideas:

http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.php?t=3222528

Good luck to you!
  • Lighthouse_in_the_dark
    Lighthouse_in_the_dark Posts: 177 Forumite
    edited 29 January 2014 at 2:48AM
    swizzy big ideas never heart anyone.

this forum is very good for somethings (and this subsection especially) but in reality its full of people who want to make a couple of hundred quid a month extra.