What benefits should I look at after redundancy

Options
Hi there everyone - I am a newbie so please be gentle!

After nearly 17 years with the same company, my position was made redundant and I left during December.

I have made a claim for Job Seekers Allowance - and been to the Job Centre a couple of times - this claim has been approved.

I have been advised that all other benefits are means tested, but I am keen to know what you guys think we should be looking at, if anything. Below is a fairly accurate overview of finances and family situ.

My partner works 24 hours per week, earning roughly 19.5k per year. I am currently seeking employment (per above). No significant savings - other than my redundancy payment received (c.25k). 2 kids - so receiving child benefit. House is owned but mortgaged.

Is there anything you guys think I should be looking at?

Many thanks in anticipation.

M

Comments

• Indie_Kid
    Indie_Kid Posts: 23,077 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Your partners income would be too high for most benefits. May get a small amount of child tax credits though.
    Sealed pot challenge #232. Gold stars from Sue-UU - :staradmin :staradmin £75.29 banked
    50p saver #40 £20 banked
    Virtual sealed pot #178 £80.25
  • bloolagoon
    bloolagoon Posts: 7,973 Forumite
    Options
    You won't get TC until April
    Tomorrow is the most important thing in life
  • m4rkh
    m4rkh Posts: 7 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Thanks sh1305

We have paid childcare costs for last 9 years or so, but have given notice to the childminder considering I am not working, so future childcare costs should be nil - do you think this will make a difference?

Thanks

Mark
  • Indie_Kid
    Indie_Kid Posts: 23,077 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    It will do, yes.
    Sealed pot challenge #232. Gold stars from Sue-UU - :staradmin :staradmin £75.29 banked