How does Car Allowance work?

Hi guys,

I have an offer for a job which pays £7k in car allowance.

How does the car allowance work? Will I get taxed on it? I am quite new to this so if anyone can help me understand it would be great please :)

Comments

• You will pay tax and NIC on it in exactly the same manner as if you were given a salary increase of £7000.
  • zygurat789
    zygurat789 Posts: 4,263 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    LiveOnce wrote: »
    Hi guys,

I have an offer for a job which pays £7k in car allowance.

How does the car allowance work? Will I get taxed on it? I am quite new to this so if anyone can help me understand it would be great please :)

The car will be yours, you will have to pay all the expenses and if you leave this job the car is yours to take with you.
    If your employer pays you expenses for business miles of less than 45p per mile for the first 10,000 miles and 25p thereafter you will be able, by submitting a claim, to reduce your taxable income. Any payment in excess of these figures will, of course, be taxable.
    The only thing that is constant is change.
  • LiveOnce
    LiveOnce Posts: 476 Forumite
    zygurat789 wrote: »
    The car will be yours, you will have to pay all the expenses and if you leave this job the car is yours to take with you.
    If your employer pays you expenses for business miles of less than 45p per mile for the first 10,000 miles and 25p thereafter you will be able, by submitting a claim, to reduce your taxable income. Any payment in excess of these figures will, of course, be taxable.

Do employers typically pay mileage after giving car allowance? My current company pays no car allowance but I can claim mileage.
  • zygurat789
    LiveOnce wrote: »
    Do employers typically pay mileage after giving car allowance? My current company pays no car allowance but I can claim mileage.