Pension payments via company or not?

Options
Hello,

I have been reliably informed (by Mumsnet!) that this is THE forum to post questions in as you are all really helpful. Thanks in advance for any info or advice.

I have two pensions from previous employments (where there were employer matched contributions) but currently am paying into neither, mostly due to having been on maternity leave and not having spare cash. As I am now back to working four days a week, I feel I should probably start saving for retirement again - but am unsure of the best (and most tax efficient) way to do this.

I am the sole director and employee of my own limited company (I am a consultant in the not for profit sector) and pay myself a small salary, and in addition take dividends from the company. As such I pay no income tax, but do pay NI, and of course corporation tax.

So my questions;
- Am I better paying into a pension as an individual, or is it better for the company to make the payments from my company bank account? What are the benefits of either?
- Or (as I have seen some people suggest) am I better to not pay into a pension at all and use any spare cash to pay off mortgage (we can make unlimited over-payments with no fee) or into ISAs?

I am sure a number of people will tell me to see an IFA, and I am happy to do this, but am relatively new to my area and no one I know has any recommendations- how do I find one? (I have spoken to my accountant and he has said he's not a pensions expert so wouldn't want to advise me!)

Thank you again for any help or advice.

Comments

• Lokolo
    Lokolo Posts: 20,861 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    I am not certain an IFA will definately be able to help (yes they can help you set up a pension) but I feel as though this might be better for a tax expert (Dunston will confirm).