Can receive my pension at 35 advice needed. Help!!

Options
I can receive my pension at 35 I took it out in 2000 when I was a pro footballer so I had special dis compensation.

I am now 33 so getting close.

Actually have one with Standard Life worth around 8000 and one with St James Place worth around 14000 I haven't paid much into them the last 5 years due to financial difficulty.

I want to know what I can do when I turn 35 I would love to take it all out in a lump sum badly need it but can I do this? and if so do I pay penaltys or tax?

Can I only take 25%?

I am currently unemployed.

Advice most welcome!

Thanks

Comments

• jamesd
    jamesd Posts: 26,103 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    If you have a pension that is specifically aimed at those in limited career jobs it is possible to have a pension that can be taken at 35. What you can take and when will depend on the terms of the specific pension so you'll need to contact the pension plan administrators to check the rules that apply to you. It's very unlikely that you would be able to take it all as a lump sum.
  • FrankFidler
    Options
    It is clearly stated in both that my retirement date is Oct 2015 and all the statements I receive state that. I see there was a change in 2006 and then 2010 but mine was taken out in 2000?

I will ring them both on Monday to see.

Thanks
  • mania112
    mania112 Posts: 1,981 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    edited 9 November 2013 at 12:27PM
    Options
    I was recently involved with 3 players (i wont name drop!) who moved their Footballers pension.

It works like many other Final Salary pensions just with an exceptionally low retirement age (35).

At 35 you have the option to either take a pension, or take a lower pension with a tax free lump sum.