Worth starting or not?

Options
I am a first time poster although have read these forums for some time and would appreciate other peoples perspective now on my own ideas.

Having reached the ripe old age of 50, I now find myself wanting to do something worthwhile with my life. I am not in a financcially secure position so anything I do will have to bring me in a little bit of money. As an artist I have a fairly creative mind and on a regular basis come up with fundraising ideas, a number of which I have taken to various charities.

However I am now wondering whether to start a events company (I have run a couple of businesses before) but concentrating on fundraising. Having had a torrid time over the last year with debts, depression and a feeling of 'is it worth it?' I debate with myself as to whether this would work or not.

So I would be interested in hearing what opinions others may have.

Comments

• paddyrg
    paddyrg Posts: 13,543 Forumite
    Options
    Do you have experience in event production? Having ideas for them, and putting them on is not the same thing. Would you be a promoter, or require a backer? Sometimes charities will advance cash to an event management company, however I've seen that end in tears when the charity loses money. If you're a promoter and shouldering the risk, you need cajones - the typical promoter margin is 7-12% which isn't that big a payoff when you're laying your house on the line for a £100k event!

This means you'll need to think about capitalisation - with an already insecure financial position that is a tough ask.

Now, if you want to put events on, you might find it easier if you can partner with an existing promoter who has cash and who wants to do some new, fresh charity events, or see if a charity will take a punt and back an event you do for them?
  • colino
    colino Posts: 5,059 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker First Anniversary
    Options