Santander Mortgage Advice

Hi I'm a newbie if this as been covered before please make allowances.

I am currently in the process of selling my house/buying a new one. Because I have a good rate on my existing Alliance & Leicester mortgage & because I thought it would be quicker I decided to port my existing mortgage. Because A&L are now part of Santander I have had to transfer my loan to them, this is where the problems begin.

Firstly they are grindingly slow, OK little I can do about that but worse was to come when I eventually got my mortgage affordability interview with them (despite already having done this with A&L). I am borrowing a small amount of additional money (less than my original loan) over the existing mortgage period. All was fine until I was asked if I owned another property, I do so answered yes. The details of the property are that my aging Mother lives in it, she is entirely independent, has her own income & pays all the household bills, she does not pay me rent & I do not contribute any money to the property at all.

Santander could not understand this & insisted that as a relative living in a property that I own she is therefore a dependent & that I am responsible for all her bills & the up keep of the house. We went through what I thought was a theoretical list of her living costs, when I received my mortgage agreement to sign today I was shocked to see that not only is she listed as a dependent but the "theoretical living costs" have been added to my monthly out goings. Santander seem incapable of understanding that I do not pay any of her costs, despite me providing bank statements etc showing all my regular outgoings.