Real-life MMD: Should I pay fixed contribution for teacher's gift?

Options

Comments

• Keighleyweb
    Options
    I can't believe the head teacher lets them do this. If you son wants to give his teacher something why not buy them a present just from him ie a box of chocolates or a plant. I think this needs reporting to the local council or even ofsted.
  • choccobreak
    Options
    I am also a teacher and completely agree with katie13.

My daughters school used to ask for a school levy of £10 per year that went towards the diocese.

It is an individual choice whether a child wants to give a present to the teachers or teaching staff.

One of the best presents I ever received from one of my pupils was a card written out by the child and a multipack (4) of Boost because the child one day seen me have a Boost with my cuppa. That was about 3 years ago and that sticks in my mind.

Sorry about the long post ..... I think it is completely wrong for a school to ask a child to contribute anything towards a teachers present. A child/family should contribute because they WANT to not because there is pressure from the school/peers.
  • dimples666
    dimples666 Posts: 89 Forumite
    Options
    Are Teachers allowed to accept large gifts like that?

Nurses, Doctors and Police are not allowed to accept anything other than token gifts (box of chocs or the like), large gifts must be declared and given to Senior Staff to buy equipment etc eg its considered a charitable donation
    loan £57,000!!!!
    Started Sept 2012 - Made 21st £25 payment off arrears =£525
    July 2013 made 11th full payment of £491 to loan, Hooray!!!!!! B XX
  • soniam
    soniam Posts: 3 Newbie
    Options
    I can understand the child would feel left out but that really is ridiculous. Each child has to give £25??!! Why should teachers get anything extra? (In fact why should anyone if they are already getting paid for a job).

You need to look at your financial situation.