What to do with Money.

Options
Hi, I'm new to this site. I'm a 20yr old University Student and unsure what to do with my money.
Unlike other students, I have worked very hard over the last few years, and not been silly with my money, and have gained substantial savings (between £14-17,000,haven't done a complete total recently).
I have now given up my job, as I am going into my final year and want to really concentrate on my degree. I receive student finance, and use this to pay rent and aid living, next year some of my savings will go on general living as well like some of my wages used to.
I currently have a 2012-13 ISA, and need to get one for this year, the majority of my savings is in an online saving account.
I am unsure what I want to do with my money. I want to save it, but where is best? I'm hoping my savings will aid me after uni when I may struggle to get a job, or be used for a deposit/rent. What is best to do with this money for a year?
I want to hopefully try and increase it still, although I know this will be very hard with no set job as I will only be doing small helping jobs for family over summer, and I have already made a budget for my last uni year.

Thanks in advance for any help!:j

Comments

• pipsqueak92
    Options
    Where is the best place to put in large savings for good interest returns?
  • atush
    atush Posts: 18,730 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    If the money will be needed in a year, you may not be able to get enough interest to beat inflation. Keep transferring your old ISA to new ones to get the best interest available.

Look to Regular saver accounts. you are limited in how much you can put in each month, but as a non taxpayer you won't have to pay tax on interest.

As for increasing your money, doesn't make a whole lot of sense to run up loans and then scrimp to save. I'd look to not increase any debt at this point.
  • Eco_Miser
    Eco_Miser Posts: 4,708 Forumite