We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

Clearing this un-level weed-ridden brick mess!

Options
darkh0rse
darkh0rse Posts: 118 Forumite
First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
Hi all

I've just moved into a new (rented) house and I thought I might take on the challenge of tackling this monstrosity that is the back "garden". I thought it would be a good project to get in to, I have no gardening experience.

20130531123849.th.jpg

As you can see, there are weeds everywhere, barely any grass, buried brick, stones etc.

Spent a few hours this afternoon trying to dig out all the weeds, looks a lot better now:
20130531191736.th.jpg
... but where do I go next? Every time other I chuck the spade in I seem to be hitting brick not soil.

Been trying to Google around to find the answer but most of the guides I've found assume you have a reasonably level surface to start with, which I don't.

I'd like to achieve a flat lawn with a small flower bed, nothing too ambitious.

TIA.

Comments

• I_have_spoken
    I_have_spoken Posts: 5,051 Forumite
    Options
    Is it worth it for a rental? IMHO I'd glyphosate it, membrane, 10mm golden gravel and grow some plants in pots you can take with you.
  • Leif
    Leif Posts: 3,727 Forumite
    Options
    As above, don't waste too much energy and money on someone else's garden. That said, why not dig an area for the bed, removing stones. But before you do that, glyphosate the area otherwise you will be breaking up weed roots, and sometimes that helps them spread. As for the lawn, maybe just rake the dead weeds off, rake the top to get some tilth, spread some grass seed into the tilth, and cross your fingers.