Accident and sickness and pre existing conditions

Options
Hello,
I have critical illness cover on my mortgage but no accident and sickness as I work in the public sector and get good sick pay. Anyway...for the past 6 months I have had some back and hip discomfort. I have not seen a doctor and have tried to sort it out myself to no avail. I did this so that it would not appear on my medical records in case I wanted to get Income Protection. I did though see an oestopath privately. I will need to see a doctor at some point if this persists. I would like to get Protection but, how much do I need to disclose? Is this a pre existing condition? I'm worried that if i don't disclose it, even though I haven't been to the doctors, it may come back to haunt me, but if I DO disclose it, I will be uninsurable and if I go to the doctors first, I will definitely be uninsurable as it will be down on my medical records. Please help!!!

Comments

• Quentin
    Quentin Posts: 40,405 Forumite
    Options
    Yes its an existing condition.
  • dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,428 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    I did this so that it would not appear on my medical records in case I wanted to get Income Protection.

Too late for that. It is not on diagnosis. It is on symptoms.
    I would like to get Protection but, how much do I need to disclose?

Everything. Symptons and visit to the oestopath.
    Is this a pre existing condition?

yes
    I'm worried that if i don't disclose it, even though I haven't been to the doctors, it may come back to haunt me

You have left it too late and you are now probably uninsurable as insurers generally do not like to take on new business when you are at the stage of symptoms and no diagnosis. They would likely defer the decision until the diagnosis. Although some may offer cover with a blanket exclusion on back and hip or anything related to that.