Burglar Alarm Installation Prices

Options

Comments

• xyz123
    xyz123 Posts: 1,663 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    we had 3 quotes earlier this year for hybrid system where sesors etc are wireless and external siren is wired. all quotes were between £600 and £800. it was for 3-bed semi with 5 PIR sensors and 3 door contacts.
  • kwoodberry
    Options
    Hi There, since this thread is kinda still active I thought I'd add my two pennys worth :)
    I worked in the alarm industry for a number of years, now I build websites. Putting the two skills together I built a useful website with a burglar alarm cost calculator (supplied and installed price in your local area), take a look - securityalarms.co.uk/calculator/

On a sidenote; wireless systems are now much more reliable than they ever were. Always opt for 868mhz system though, not 433mhz as they're more stable (less prone to false alarms).

If you're handy with DIY, a solid wireless system is Visonic's Powermax Plus system. You can pick a new Powermax Plus for less than £300.

Hope this helps.
  • madwayne
    madwayne Posts: 14 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Annual maintenance should take around 1 hour and cost approximately £50, it may be as high as £100.

Wireless devices should have there batteries replaced every two years, but may last longer.

The panels back up battery, should be replaced every 5 years, but may last longer.

There are occasions where the batteries do not last as long, but the above is a very good guideline.

Monitoring is using a monthly charge in the region of £20 to £30 a month.

Note: police do not attend audible only alarms, unless its verified that someone is breaking in, ie a neighbour reports the alarm has gone off and can see some one breaking in.