Sheffield City Council ticket - didn't display my clock

Hello,

I've had a ticket pasted to my windscreen today for the heinous crime of holding a valid parking permit for a Sheffield Council car park and forgetting to display my clock. The parking permit I have is in two parts; there is a permit stuck to windscreen (which is annoying as I have been parking there every day for the last 8 months and obviously have a valid permit in the windscreen) and a clock which you have to set your arrival time.

I plain forgot to set my clock and it was left in the coin tray behind the gearstick. Car park is a council one with no time restrictions for permit holders (workhouse lane). I'm really peeved as said I obviously have a valid permit and have paid for parking! So what I'm wondering is what tack to take with the appeal, this is my first ticket. What am I most likely to get the best result with?

-Go down the route of I genuinely forgot and its obvious I have a valid permit?
-Tell them I set it and it must have gotten knocked off whilst me or OH were getting out of the car?

I don't know how sneaky they are i.e. do they take pictures of missing clocks and are they likely to say tough, you forgot it, broke the rules, easy money for us. Any advice greatly appreciated with what to state in my appeal, as I say I've parked there every day for 8 months and its a small car park(60ish cars), so any regular warden would know my car and see its a valid permit. I know I can't make any assumptions on wardens being pragmatic though, equally so for the people who process the appeals.

Cheers again for any help offered.

PS Sheffield Council's site says these are grounds for appeal:

Challenge the PCN if you think it was wrongly issued on the following grounds:

The PCN has already been paid in full

The contravention did not occur (e.g. you didn't actually use a bus lane at the wrong time or you didn't park illegally)

The penalty exceeded the relevant amount