Recorded delivery c**k up!!

Options
Hi, I've been buying on ebay for a couple of years now and not had any problems.....till now! I bought a couple of DVD's but havent received them. I contacted the seller who says these were sent recorded delivery on 7/4/05. She has tracked them and apparently I was out when RM tried to deliver but they left a card. No they didnt. Without the card I cant go and pick up the package - the sorting office is huuuuuge and they're strict about this. What do I do? The seller suggests I track this item myself and has helpfully provided the tracking number. I've suggested that if I dont collect the packet it will be returned to her and she can then repost it - I do realise though that this will cost her money. Who's right?
~A mind is a terrible thing to waste on housework~

Comments

• Debt_Free_Chick
    Debt_Free_Chick Posts: 13,276 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Can you call or visit the sorting office and ask them to attempt another delivery? This way, you are not asking to collect the parcel with no card - they are simply being asked to attempt to complete the original transaction i.e. to deliver to the specified address.

Yes - after a while, a Recorded Delivery item will be returned to the sender, if not delivered.

No point in you tracking the item - you know where it is and it's not where it should be! ;)
    Warning ..... I'm a peri-menopausal axe-wielding maniac ;)
  • Cat72
    Cat72 Posts: 2,398 Forumite
    Options
    I agree with above post. My post office you can just phone up and they will arrange for another delivery date. Failing that contact the sorting office, preferabley by phone, speak to who is in charge pointing out that the postman was at fault for not leaving a card, and ask if you bring proof of who you are / where you stay etc can you collect it ?
  • biblejohn
    biblejohn Posts: 553 Forumite
    Options