When to plant out hanging baskets

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Greenfingered MoneySaving
6 replies 1.3K views
oliasolias Forumite
3.6K Posts
✭✭✭✭
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Greenfingered MoneySaving
Ok, complete novice here, but I needed to spruce up my courtyard to put my house on the market.
I have bought a variety of suitable plug plants, grown them on in 9cm pots, and have had them outside in a mini greenhouse for a week or so.
They are looking good and healthy and I have pinched out tips etc.
When should I be looking at planting them out in my hanging baskets and troughs?
they include:
Trailing lobelia
Trailing fuschia
geraniums
sweet peas (dwarf basket variety)
Oh, and I am in NE England.

Thanks.

Olias

Replies

• Linda32Linda32 Forumite
    4.4K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭✭
    Sweet peas can go out now, they are as tough as old boots, although I know they don't look it. Its my first year growing geraniums so I'd better not suggest anything for those. :o

Fuchsia and lobelia, I would wait at least another three weeks if you are in the North East. Mind you it is a guessing game to a certain extent.

Is the mini greenhouse a plastic one or glass. If its plastic then they have been hardened off I would have thought - That just means getting them used to being outside after growing in a warm house or greenhouse.
    If however, it is a glass one then I would be inclined to move them outdoors during the day for the next few weeks so achieve the same thing.

If you sit the plants in trays you can easily lift a couple out in the morning before you go out, then bring them in at night and so on until all of your plants have had a spell outside.

HTH
  • oliasolias Forumite
    3.6K Posts
    ✭✭✭✭
    Hi and thanks.