We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

Want to create a veg patch

Options
Hi all,

I am a novice gardener and have a garden which is about 6m x 6m and currently all lawn.

I would like to grow my own produce so have decided to commit one side of the garden along the fence for that purpose.

As the garden is south facing, is there a particular side of the garden would be best for this? I have been thinking that if I pick the right hand side then the plants will be in the shade from about 2pm onwards during the height of summer, which may be a little better for them !?! but I'm not sure if I have got that completely wrong. :(

Also, I am undecided whether to create raised beds, or just grow straight into the ground. Can anyone advise of the pros and cons of this? I can only think that raised beds would mean less bending, but they would also cost more to establish.

Many Thanks

Comments

• Leif
    Leif Posts: 3,727 Forumite
    Options
    Raised beds are useful if you have shallow soil, very poor soil, or poor drainage. It is cheaper to deep dig, and incorporate lots of organic matter, and sharp sand if needed. I would have thought you would want to use the sunniest part of the garden, so keep an eye on how the shadows move during the day. I prefer deep digging, and creating paths between beds to avoid walking on the beds, and compacting the soil. Others may disagree.
    Warning: This forum may contain nuts.
  • Cally_Smart
    Cally_Smart Posts: 437 Forumite
    Options