PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! In order to help keep the Forum a useful, safe and friendly place for our users, discussions around non-MoneySaving matters are not permitted per the Forum rules. While we understand that mentioning house prices may sometimes be relevant to a user's specific MoneySaving situation, we ask that you please avoid veering into broad, general debates about the market, the economy and politics, as these can unfortunately lead to abusive or hateful behaviour. Threads that are found to have derailed into wider discussions may be removed. Users who repeatedly disregard this may have their Forum account banned. Please also avoid posting personally identifiable information, including links to your own online property listing which may reveal your address. Thank you for your understanding.

First time buyer needs lots of advice!

Options
Hi I'm a newbie and need some help/advice..anything appriciated!
Dh and I are interested in buying a property. At the minute we live in london but are keen to widen the search to somewhere closeish with good schools, good links, abit of greenery, a bit villagey etc..(the usual)Any ideas on nice, reasonably priced areas?
I just don't have a clue where to start. I don't know ANYTHING about this type of thing (just love Phil&Kirsty &Sarah Beeny!), so need some top tips!
Oh, also at the minute, we're both students but he should be working soon (I hope!). Do we need to save forever for deposit or is a 100% morgage an option? Does this add lot of interest? How do you work out how much repayments would be (until I know that, I don't even know what kind of budget we will have..)
We would also be looking to buy to let to begin with, to help pay some of the morgage for a while..
Sorry this is so long & dimwitted..but any advice/links appriciated!

Comments

• Katgoddess
    Katgoddess Posts: 1,821 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options