M1 tax code and bonus

Options
onlyroz
onlyroz Posts: 17,661 Forumite
First Post Combo Breaker First Anniversary
Hi all.

I have been working for the same company for two years, and I normally get paid a regular monthly amount with a bonus paid in february. However, looking at my pay slips it seems like I was put on an M1 tax code in September last year - I'm not currently sure why this was done.

According to the various PAYE calculators I have looked at, I seem to be paying the correct amount of tax - except for this month when I received my bonus, where I appear to have been taxed at the 40% rate.

My question is, will the tax overpayment even itself out over the next few months, or will I have to apply for a refund at the end of the tax year? And I don't really understand the full implications of the M1 tax code, and why I might have been put on it.

Comments

• molerat
    molerat Posts: 31,992 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post First Anniversary
    edited 18 February 2013 at 9:11PM
    Options
    On an M1 code it will not correct itself so you will either have to reclaim it next FY or ring the tax office to find out why you are on M1 and possibly get it corrected by the end of March.

The M1 basically means each month is taken in isolation using 1/12th of your annual allowance and not smoothing out the ups and downs over the year. 99% down to a HMRC !!!! up.
  • jem16
    jem16 Posts: 19,404 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Photogenic
    Options
    onlyroz wrote: »
    However, looking at my pay slips it seems like I was put on an M1 tax code in September last year - I'm not currently sure why this was done.

What was your tax code before September and what was it afterwards?

Did you get a P2 Coding Notice at the time of the change and if so what did it say?
  • onlyroz
    Options