Why do grown men ride on the pavement?

Options

Comments

• chrisv24
    Options
    We have cycle lanes on the pavement where I live so we regularly have cyclists on the pavement rather than the roads. Sometimes, especially on busy national speed limit roads, its best for cyclists to go on the pavement.
  • jblack_2
    jblack_2 Posts: 1,435 Forumite
    Options
    There are bad cyclists and bad drivers. As a driver I see a lot more bad cyclists though.

I had a cyclist banging on the back of my van last week. We were stuck in traffic on a busy main road and crawling along. I heard him banging and shouting so put the handbrake on and got out. He was upset that I was too close to the kerb which meant he couldn't pass. I pointed out that he should be overtaking not undertaking. He didn't seem to get it:rotfl:.

Anyone using the roads should be following the Highway Code, simple as that. Many cyclists think they above it though.

IMHO all road users should be insured including cyclists. If a cyclist causes damage or an accident to a pedestrian or another road user it would make getting it sorted a lot easier.
  • liz545
    liz545 Posts: 1,726 Forumite
    Options
    [FONT=&quot]Where I live in London, the majority of people I see cycling on the pavement are in their late teens/early twenties, hoody-wearing males. They don't seem like they'd describe themselves as cyclists, more just that they ride a bike until they get a car, so they're not as likely to invest in cycling gear or think much about cycling safely. They don’t want to be on the road, and it’s unlikely that they’re going to pay too much attention to advice directed at ‘cyclists’ as that’s not how they see themselves.[/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot] [/FONT]