Self assesment, record keeping etc.

Options
Hello all,
I'm on a different computer today and forgot my password so i've registered again as another user! (Usually Cullumpster!)

A couple of questions for you self employed bods if you don't mind?

1) My b/f has just registered as self employed last month but his outgoings are more than his earnings at the moment bless him, i know that you recieve a self assesment form at the end of september but will he still have to fill one out if he has only been working for a month?

2) What records do I (notice i said I, as i have been delegated his record keeper Doah!) actually have to keep, sorry i am a bit of a novice at this, i've seen a few people say that they just keep an excel sheet for it but i don't actually know what i am supposed to be recording!!

Can anyone help or pm me please???

Thanks
Vic

Comments

• heleen
    heleen Posts: 116 Forumite
    Options
    Hi Vic

Here are my 2 cents:

1) unfortunately you need to fill in tax returns for whatever period it is. I'm unfamiliar with self employment but isn't that an April-April year as well?

2)
    I keep Excel spreadsheets and they have served me well, basically one sheet for revenue, one for expenses and one for tax payments (and then one for detailed VAT).
    REvenue: date of invoice , who invoiced to, how much net, how much gross (=(incl VAT if you need to), whether received paymetn or not and date it features on teh bank account.
    Expenses: Date, what kind (e.g. stationery, travel), any comments, amount excl Vat, amount incl Vat
    Taxes: PAYE payments and VAT payements made, reference number, what period they're for and what date it's on teh bank account
    VAT: I have small business VAT so just keep track of invoiced in the period and multiply by 13% to know what to pay.

Hope this helps

Heleen
    I love it when a plan comes together :rotfl:
  • WHA
    WHA Posts: 1,359 Forumite
    Options