Affording retirement

Comments

• susiejq
    susiejq Posts: 154 Forumite
    PPI Party Pooper
    Thanks for the link, it's very useful and confirms that £24,000 is an acceptable income to retire on for a couple. That's comforting as I was getting in a bit of a panic that we weren't going to be able to retire as planned.

OH has been working full time for 50 years this year and I have been working for 43 yrs (less 2 year gap with daughter). We feel like we've done enough!
    :T
    Nothing is truly lost until your mum can't find it!
  • missile
    missile Posts: 11,684 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post Combo Breaker
    Wishing you a long and happy retirement, sounds like you have earned it.
    "A nation's greatness is measured by how it treats its weakest members." ~ Mahatma Gandhi
    Ride hard or stay home :iloveyou:
  • badger09
    badger09 Posts: 11,201 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper
    If I'm reading your figures correctly, your current annual net income is around £48000. You say you estimate your income after retirement to be around £24000 before tax.

A couple of things strike me:

Do you currently save £24000 a year? (£48k - £24k). If not, what do you spend it on, and can you manage without spending on those things?

Almost half of your projected retirement income (£11k) is from rental income. Is that from one, or more than one property? If it is from just one property, you could lose almost half your income if that property was not let.
  • jennifernil
    jennifernil Posts: 5,580 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary
    We retired in 2007 on just under half our previous gross income, including interest on savings and on OH's lump sum. 2 years later OH got an additional pension of about £4k, so we now have around £30k.

We find we can live comfortably on £15k, including running our large car, paying band G council tax, and heating a large house.