PPI Credit History

Badgeronimous
Badgeronimous Posts: 17 Forumite
edited 31 December 2012 at 7:10PM in Reclaim PPI & other insurance
First of all, big thanks to MSE whom allowed me to successfully claim back several thousand pounds in PPI that was useless to me as I was a contractor.

Anyway, I generally have a good credit history, indeed my only blot is a 9mth spell when I was unemployed and unable to pay back a £550pcm loan (falling behind on 5 payments). The loan has since been settled.

My question is, given that I consciously (and stupidly in hindsight) paid the loan supplier (Clydesdale Bank) for a product to protect me from unemployment that subsequently proved useless, am I able to request the bad reports are removed from my credit history?

My view is that I did a responsible thing insuring myself for sickness/unemployment on a fairly large loan, with large monthly payments. If the product I thought I had worked, I would never of been in a position to default on the loan. Thus feel aggrieved to have this mark still against me, denting my available credit, and credit history.

Is it possible to request my bank (Clydesdale) remove this red mark on my credit report?

Comments

• My question is, given that I consciously (and stupidly in hindsight) paid the loan supplier (Clydesdale Bank) for a product to protect me from unemployment that subsequently proved useless, am I able to request the bad reports are removed from my credit history?
    No, you still defaulted.
    Sorry.
  • dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 115,904
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Forumite
    My question is, given that I consciously (and stupidly in hindsight) paid the loan supplier (Clydesdale Bank) for a product to protect me from unemployment that subsequently proved useless, am I able to request the bad reports are removed from my credit history?