Energy myth-busting: Is it cheaper to have heating on all day?

Options

Comments

• jrgodfrey
    Options
    This sounds too good to be true but take a look at Heat Pumps.
    Air source heat pumps are the cheapest to install but not quite as cheap to run as Ground source but the difference in efficiency is small.
    This system works like a refrigerator but for heating it works in reverse, That is it heats rather than cools.
    I installed one in my previous flat, I monitored the power consumption which was about 360 Watts and I estimate that the output in heat was very near 2.5Kw
    There are heat pump central heating systems coming on the market now, Not cheap to install but really cheap to run, They will make gas central heating obsolete. I am an electrical engineer (Retired) I manufactured Night Storage heaters when they first came out, For domestic heating they are and were a con.
    Google 'Heat Pumps' You will be amazed.
    One heat pump for a living room will cost you £1,000 - £1,200 to have installed and save you a fortune and in summer you can reverse the process and get Air conditioning. I first used a small heat pump in my workshop 25 years ago
  • Cardew
    Cardew Posts: 29,036 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Rampant Recycler
    Options
    ab48uk wrote: »
    In our house, there isn't a room thermostat - just thermostatically controlled valves on each radiator. To me this seems sensible, otherwise the two are fighting each other. Often room thermostats are located in a little used hall, rather than the living room!

It is now compulsory for there to be a room thermostat.

However you are absolutely correct that no matter where this thermostat is sited, it can cause problems.

Why would you want the boiler controlled by a thermostat in the hall? If your living room is not quite warm enough, you have to turn up the thermostat in the hall.