Peer-to-peer lending sites: MSE guide discussion

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Savings & Investments
3K replies 512.7K views

Replies

• stehoukstehouk Forumite
    404 posts
    100 Posts Second Anniversary
    ✭✭
    Funding Secure recently created new accounts based upon access to funds - it's a disgrace that they took peoples money for these new products when surely they must have known what was coming (Lendy also did the same thing before going into administration)

I worked in sales when i was younger and we used to be suspicious when a company dramatically increased orders for no apparent reason, they were stock piling prior to going bankrupt. seems the p2p are doing the same only with unsuspecting investors money,
  • jamesdjamesd Forumite
    24K posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    masonic wrote: »
    Some platforms make things worse by allowing loans to be traded well past the date they start to become distressed.
    Being able to trade distressed and defaulted loans is desirable, not undesirable. One easy case can be ISA to non-ISA sales where one doesn't get tax relief and the other does. Someone who can't use the relief because interest is within the PSA is similar.

In other cases people can just have different opinions about a loan's prospects, want to simplify their tax reporting or want less hassle.

Where trading in impaired loans can be inappropriate can be when a platform doesn't disclose state information, making it impractical to decide a value. The Moneything Birkenhead loans were an extreme example of this because they didn't even disclose that the borrower had defaulted by overspending on the first and second tranches when offering the third.
  • masonicmasonic Forumite
    14.2K posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Photogenic Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    jamesd wrote: »