Study Abroad - best way to take money

Options
My son will be going to Canada in Jan 2013 for a semester in Calgary Uni.

I'm just wondering if anyone here has experience of this, & the best way to get his money out there eg Travellers' Cheques, Money Transfer when he has opened a bank account, banker's draft?

His uni here doesn't seem to have given him much advice.

Thank you

Comments

• Person_one
    Person_one Posts: 28,884 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    I studied abroad in the US for a bit.

I took a small amount of cash for the first few days and a pre-loaded American Express card for the first few weeks, food shopping, bedding, getting about etc.

Then I opened a basic bank account once I was over there, made big transfers from my British bank account with each student loan payment and used the American one for day to day stuff to avoid debit card and ATM charges.

If he has an account over there make sure he knows the rules for closing it, mine had to have a zero balance for 7 days before it could be closed, so I had to work around that for the last week or so or it'd still be open!

How long is a semester though?
  • kateo
    kateo Posts: 281 Forumite
    Options
    Cheers for imput.

The semester is about 4 mths - til May.

I have just spoken to Coop bank - & it seems they will do cash & Travellers Cheques commision free - that he can then deposit in a local Canadian bank.

Thanks for the heads up about zero balance to close to close an account - will remind him to read the small print!
  • V_Chic_Chick
    Options