StepChange #debtmyths

Options

Comments

• Former_StepChange_Rachel
    Former_StepChange_Rachel Posts: 252 Organisation Representative
    edited 16 October 2014 at 10:30AM
    Options
    The myth:

My debt problems will ruin the credit scores of the people I live with #debtmyths

The reality:

This is a common concern for people approaching us for debt advice. Thankfully credit files no longer work like this, and everyone has their own credit file which reports on their own record. So if you have problems with your debts then it’s only your file that’s affected.

The exceptions to this rule are when you have accounts in joint names with someone, or someone has signed as a guarantor on a debt. You can find answers to almost every conceivable credit history question on the main credit report article on moneysavingexpert.com.

MSE Insert: Thanks Rachel - link here: http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/loans/credit-rating-credit-score
    I work as a debt advisor for StepChange Debt Charity (formerly CCCS) and have specific permission from Martin to post on these boards to try and help those in debt. Read more information on StepChange Debt Charity in the Debt Problems: What to do and where to get help article. If you find you're struggling with debt and you need further help try our online advice facility Debt Remedy

If money worries are keeping you awake, read Paul's success story at [url="http://www.needtosleep.org]Need to Sleep[/url]

• System
    System Posts: 178,094 Community Admin
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    The myth:

Once a CCJ is set in place you can’t change the monthly amount that you repay

The reality: