Savings advice needed

Options
13»

Comments

• System
    System Posts: 178,094 Community Admin
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Thanks badger09 - that certainly makes it clearer.
  • marathonic
    marathonic Posts: 1,778 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    If you're 55 and a higher rate tax payer, why not use some of the £30k for living expenses and contribute the maximum possible to your companies pension plan (assuming they have one).

This is assuming you aren't already contributing the maximum and don't have a huge pot in place already.
  • System
    System Posts: 178,094 Community Admin
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    I am a teacher and fortunately within 10 years of the 'nominal retirement age' consession applicable to those nearing retirement so the worst of the government attack on public sector pensions won't affect me and I will still get a final salary pension. All in all my pension should be ok.

I have contacted my mortgage provider and can overpay on my mortgage - they suggested I make overpayments at £1000 a time rather than smaller amounts monthly because the larger payment will trigger an interest rate recalculation (happens yearly on my account).
  • simonm_3
    simonm_3 Posts: 62 Forumite
    edited 19 November 2012 at 10:37AM
    Options