Struggling with debt? Ask a debt advisor a question

Options

Comments

• jkelly90
    jkelly90 Posts: 26 Forumite
    Options
    Hi there,

I currently have £1,600 worth of debt on a credit card and an overdraft, both of which are with Barclays. When I was in the bank the other day one of the advisors told me they could offer me a loan to clear my debts so that I'd pay it off in monthly installments.

I'm currently in my final year of uni and work full time alongside my studies. I get my final maintenance loan installment in April, and whilst a lot of it is already earmarked for other things, I was hoping to use some of it to pay off around £500 of my debt.

Back in October I had to move unexpectedly (which is how I ran up most of the debt) which has added an extra £70 onto my monthly outgoings for commuting. My plan had been to finish my studies in May and find another job, hopefully with better pay, and closer to home (although I have been searching since December and there's so little out there so I'm a bit disheartened at the moment!) so that I would have some extra income, and then open a current account (with no overdraft!) for daily living and pay the extra income into my overdraft.

However, when the bank suggested the loan to me I was tempted. Now I know that getting into more debt to pay off debt is not a good idea and normally I would have ignored it but it did appeal to me because I know what I'm like, and whilst I'm on the whole quite good with money, if I have extra left at the end of the month I'm more inclined to spend it than do something sensible with it, so the idea of strict monthly payments appeals to me because at least that way I am forced to pay it back.