Struggling with debt? Ask a debt advisor a question

Options

Comments

• Former_StepChange_Richard
    Former_StepChange_Richard Posts: 119 Organisation Representative
    Options
    inepta wrote: »
    Thank you Richard. As i thought then. This was not what the advisors were telling me when i called in. I am worried that they will be giving incorrect advice to others.

Not a problem.

I believe my colleague Rachael has sent you a private message with information about making a complaint if you wish. Let us know if you need any help with this if you'd like to take it further.

Richard
    I work as a debt advisor for StepChange Debt Charity and have specific permission from Martin to post on these boards to try and help those in debt. Read more information on StepChange Debt Charity in the Debt Problems: What to do and where to get help article. If you find you're struggling with debt and you need further help try our online advice facility Debt Remedy.

Don't be afraid of getting debt advice. We'll help you take one more step towards getting help with your debt.
  • Karfy
    Karfy Posts: 57 Forumite
    Options
    Hi there,

I need some help as I've gone further into debt due to illness/disability and the extra costs of paying for it. I've only been getting lower rate DLA in both mobility and care and I called up DWP to be reassessed as my condition deteriorated and I had to be moved onto PIP but the whole process has taken so many months, maybe like 10? And now I'm just waiting to hear the decision.

But in the meantime my costs have increased and I now have £1500 on a Halifax credit card and I'm almost £1800 into my Barclays current account overdraft and now that Barclays changed the charges I'm having to pay £1.50 a day for that overdraft. £48 just came out of my current account and I just can't afford it... :(