Toshiba Portege - good deal or not?

Options
Slinky_Malinky
Slinky_Malinky Posts: 896 Forumite
edited 31 October 2012 at 2:26PM in Techie Stuff
What do you think of this...

http://www.ebuyer.com/288876-toshiba-portege-z830-10n-ultrabook-pt224e-00h00len

It is only an i3 - I know I could probably get an i5 3rd gen for same money but I am attratced by the light weight (only 1.12kg) and the 5 year guarantee. My uses would be general surfing (mostly forums, ebay & Amazon), online shopping, maybe watching iplayer or netflix/lovefilm. No gaming or heavy use for docments, just the odd letter to school. I would like to rip my music CDs on there but my collection is not huge. I have an external disk drive so no problem that it does not have one.

I have no techie knowledge but have tried to research this myself and know that an SSD is good, the Toshibas seem to be fairly reliable and the Portege has had good reviews. The price seems very good compared to other Portege models. Is there anything in this spec and price that should put me off buying it please?

Edited to addthis as a possible alternative...

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Toshiba-Satellite-U940-Ultrabook-Bluetooth/dp/B009HQ6SUO/ref=dp_return_2?ie=UTF8&n=340831031&s=computers

Beter processor 3rd gen i5 but has 500gbHDD and 32 gb SSD, no idea how much difference this will make in daily use compared to 128gb SSD, both have 4gb RAM, plus this one is heavier.

Thanks in advance,
SM

Comments

• John_Gray
    John_Gray Posts: 5,823 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post Photogenic First Anniversary
    Options
    The Portege is Toshiba's premium brand. Note that you only get 128 GB of hard disk, admittedly in the form of an SSD.

You are probably paying £150-£200 more for either of these two laptops than you need to, for what you say you want to use them for!
  • OneADay
    OneADay Posts: 9,031 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options