entiltled to anything or not please help......

Options
Hi All,

I am seeking some advice on any benefits financial help we may be entitled to our situation is this I am 24years old and my hubby is 31yrs old we have a son aged 4yrs and also a baby boy aged 2 weeks I normally work full time 37.5hrs for the NHS as an assistant manager my annual wage before having maternity leave was 16400 pa and about 1100after tax every month my hubby had to give up his full time work in July 2005 to take over our childcare as we could never afford to pay for childcare and as you can imagine we struggled he then decided in October 05 to go into partnership with his father and became self employed he works part time and slots in around my working hours his wages were 3329 for the business that year it doesnt pay great but it is something we dont claim tax credits and havent done since last April as they have like many other families plunged us into debt by making overpayments and we are now being pursued by them for this. Iswore I would never claim them again but we find now that we have no choice as our finances are getting worse our income has dropped quite a bit now we get no benefits or financial help from any source at present other than my wage and child benefit for our first son.

My wage is £893 per month now OH has not had any work in for past 4 weeks and things are becoming tight he has been seeking work but nothing happening at present mentioned it to our health visitor this morning who suggested we may be entitled to a maternity grant I have made enquiries about this today jobcentre plus were useless they claimed to have none of the forms in the office and have had to phone to request them to be posted after conversation with the telephone adviser she told me I have to be in receipt of tax credits to be entitled to this but it also has to be in excess of the family element dont know what this means.