Car Parking fee's

This is my first time here, so i hope i do OK!!
Has anyone won over a borough council to reduce the car parking fee or indeed, have it squashed for a legitimate reason? I would love to hear from you with any advice with the following...I parked in my local town in a borough council car park, and paid at the pay & display for the ticket (£1) for the hour as requested. Having realised my mistake that i would have to walk to the other side of town to take the weeks takings from work to the bank, which as a lone female, i really wanted to avoid a possible mugging!! i got back in my car and parked closer to the bank in a car park also owned by the same borough council, and left the pay and display ticket on the window, and went to the bank. When i returned i have a £30 fine on the window for not having a valid ticket displayed (only because it had the name of the other car park on it) and after i checked the parking charges in this car park, it was 30p more for the hour.
I wrote to the ticket issuer and explained as above and said i genuinely did not realise that there was a difference of 30p and as i did not exceed the time on the ticket could they please let me off the fine.
They have wrote back this morning and say they are unable to justify withdrawing the excess charge, so i must pay the £30 within 14 days.
The tight wads!
I would appreciate any ideas on how i might get this fine withdrawn, as i think it is a little excessive, and i never normally ask for anything, until i have been listening to Martin that is! (what a great bloke!)
Thank you in anticipation.

Comments

• Andy_L
    Andy_L Posts: 12,744
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Forumite
    Did you display a valid parking ticket?

No you did not

Suck it up and pay the fine
  • balsingh
    balsingh Posts: 1,490
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Forumite