Admin costs for cancelled insurance

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Insurance & Life Assurance
32 replies 1.1K views
Liam54Liam54 Forumite
2 Posts
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Insurance & Life Assurance
My 18 year old daughter's old metro has finally given up the ghost. She has her own insurance and rang up her insurance company to cancel the policy and her direct debit. She has been told that she will have to pay £45 administration costs.........This seems alot of money for cancelling a policy. As a poor student I was just wondering whether insurance companies can enforce these charges or can we do anything about these costs.

Replies

• gazza975526570gazza975526570 Forumite
    3.3K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭✭
    Pretty standard although charges vary from insurer to insurer.

Nothing you can do and they are entirely legal.

You can however suspend the policy and reinsure the new vehicle (thats if she gets one) on the current policy. (There may be an additional charge for the change and/or dependent upon the car rating)
  • dunstonhdunstonh Forumite
    106.7K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    The £45 probably includes a cost for cancelling a credit agreement as well as cancelling the insurance.

If you borrow money and dont stick with the terms, then there is usually a penalty of some sort. Plus, there is often a pro rata cost. i.e. cancel 6 months in and you only get 5 months back (or there or thereabouts). That has to be factored in.
    I am an Independent Financial Adviser (IFA). The comments I make are just my opinion and are for discussion purposes only. They are not financial advice and you should not treat them as such. If you feel an area discussed may be relevant to you, then please seek advice from an Independent Financial Adviser local to you.
  • iceicebabyiceicebaby Forumite
    3.6K Posts
    Part of the Furniture Combo Breaker