Amazed at the savings I made!!

Options
Hi,

I am a newbie to the forum ( not the site though, been getting the emails for ages). I have spent the past few days having a good old rummage around the site and am pleasantly surprised at how good we (me mainly) are.

So far I have been squeezing my toilet rolls and have just bought a pint of full fat milk and watered down. I couldn't tell the difference when I drank some but I haven't told OH:D

I have also been to Lidl and bought a few basic things, some fruit and veg and juice, this came to £17.12. I usually shop with Ocado, I have just put exactly the same items on an Ocado list and it came to a massive £7.75 MORE:eek:.

I think I will have to review my shopping habits, we are not extravagant and hubby cooks most things from scratch. I am totally shocked at the price difference on such a small amount.

I am planning on trying the homemade washing powder soon, I'll let you know how it goes, there seems to be very mixed reviews on this;)

Comments

• joedenise
    joedenise Posts: 16,560 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary
    Options
    Have you thought about putting your "savings" into a savings account - it's amazing how much it totals over the year. You could put it towards a holiday or something you really want.

Denise
  • Stephen_Leak
    Stephen_Leak Posts: 8,762 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    edited 4 August 2012 at 12:31AM
    Options
    joedenise wrote: »
    Have you thought about putting your "savings" into a savings account - it's amazing how much it totals over the year. You could put it towards a holiday or something you really want.

Denise

And, in true MSE fashion, the highest interest paying easy access account.
    The acquisition of wealth is no longer the driving force in my life. :)
  • Greendayfan
    Options