Unable to download security on Vista Laptop

Options
Morning, would appreciate some help with a download problem. I am using a borrowed laptop running Vista and the free AVG security has run out. My friend has asked if I can update and switch to either Avast 7 or MSE. Problem is that the laptop doesn't seem to be accepting any free downloads. It will let me do the inital 'Run' bit, then when it asks me to Run it again, after a couple of seconds the screen reverts to the original download button page and nothing further happens.

I have had a quick look in Internet Options/Security and the boxes that need to be ticked to enable downloads etc seem to be enabled, although I'm not an expert at this by any means.

I am concerned because the machine doesn't seem to now be protected at all in any shape or form. I did try to download Malwarebytes to check if there were any problems but same thing, get just past the Run bit again and then it all stops.

Any help would be much appreciated, cheers for reading.

Comments

• GunJack
    GunJack Posts: 11,673 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Photogenic
    Options
    restart in safe mode with networking and try again. your mate has downloaded a free trial of full avg, rather than the free version which doesn't expire.
    ......Gettin' There, Wherever There is......

I have a dodgy "i" key, so ignore spelling errors due to "i" issues, ...I blame Apple :D
  • Swanseajack
    Swanseajack Posts: 106 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    I don't know how to do that, sorry, I'm a bit of a technophobe, I only know the basics I guess. When I ask the machine to restart it shuts down and restarts pretty quickly and I am instantly back to the password/log-in page, it doesn't give me an option to start in safe mode, not that I can see anyway....