Punishment" the same as correction...?

Options
This came up yesterday about a young puppy that was biting (to the point of drawing blood) on another pup. I said that the person should stop the pup doing that by correcting it, and someone else said that if you "punish" the pup like that it would turn out aggressive...

So,,,,,is that true? I have no experience on being around groups of pups and how they develop, but it didn't seem right to me to let the b*tch pup carry on attacking the other to the point of it bleeding and the other always scurring off. According to the asker, she wa doing it all the time. Like a "bully" , she said.

These dogs were 10 weeks old. So, can you correct puppies that young? Or does it have a detrimental effect on them? And what about the other one, the one getting contantly attacked when the owner did nothing to stop it, what effect does it have on that dog?

Comments

• zaksmum
    zaksmum Posts: 5,529 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    When my dog was a puppy and play biting my older dog, he did draw blood at times because his puppy teeth were so sharp.
    If I saw him doing it I'd stop him, saying "NO!" loudly and pointing to the bite saying "What's that? No!"

He very soon got the message and realised he wasn't allowed to play bite like that. My older dog was tolerant of it to a point but even she had her limits, and she'd certainly let him know when she'd had enough.

It's like all puppy training - you have to teach them what's acceptable and what's not. So of course you need to correct them, which can always be done verbally, and using a reward system when the puppy cottons on and gets it right.

There's no way I'd allow a situation where one pup's dominant and bullying another which tends to become the victim all the time.
  • VitaK
    VitaK Posts: 651 Forumite
    I've been Money Tipped!
    Options
    You never ever punish a pet. It is unaccepable.