retierment village

At the moment we live in a house up & down, which is fine but we have always said that our last move will be a bungalow. Another idea i had was living in a retirement village, has anyone had any experience of that?
Thanks

Replies

• ErrataErrata Forumite
    38.2K Posts
    10,000 Posts Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    Retirement properties for the over 55's tend to be flats and have fairly ferocious service charges.
    .................:)....I'm smiling because I have no idea what's going on ...:)
  • clemmatisclemmatis Forumite
    3.2K Posts
    I've no experience, sorry, but there's a list here

http://www.housingcare.org/elderly-uk-retirement-villages.aspx

They're normally more expensive than other retirement housing, I believe.
  • seven-day-weekendseven-day-weekend Forumite
    36.8K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    Forumite
    BIZZYIZZY wrote: »
    At the moment we live in a house up & down, which is fine but we have always said that our last move will be a bungalow. Another idea i had was living in a retirement village, has anyone had any experience of that?
    Thanks

You'll be living amongst old people. :)
    (AKA HRH_MUngo)
    Member #10 of £2 savers club
    Imagine someone holding forth on biology whose only knowledge of the subject is the Book of British Birds, and you have a rough idea of what it feels like to read Richard Dawkins on theology: Terry Eagleton
  • hethmarhethmar Forumite
    10.7K Posts
    Car Insurance Carver! Cashback Cashier
    Exactly my thought :D - I dont want to be with a load of old people hearing about all their ailments and seeing them fade away. And then you will get those bossy executive retirees, organising boring committees all the time which you have to attend. Oh no .......................

No, stay in a mixed, lively community, it will keep you young
  • margaretclaremargaretclare Forumite
    10.8K Posts
    hethmar wrote: »