DWP claim against estate

Options

Comments

• jacques_chirac
    Options
    IWhobbit wrote: »
    If it's any help, I have had the same problem with the DWP trying to grab a chunk of my late mother's estate. She died in 2013 and as her only child I am both the executor and beneficiary of her estate. Neither my late mother or I am innumerate (I'm a design engineer). They demanded bank statements going back to 2003, which as most of you would know would not be available, as bank statements only go back 6 years. It seems that all they wanted to find out was how much money she had. I wrote back and required all the Pension Credit and Savings Credit payments she received so that I could check for myself if she was overpaid or not. I also pointed out that her financial situation should have been reviewed 5 or 6 years later (in 2009) and the estate should not be made liable for any over payments prior to that.
    This has taken a considerable amount of time and effort to get to know the Pension and Savings credit rules, especially over a long time. Mother was severely disabled and housebound for the last six years of her life, which would have actually entitled her to more Pension Credit, which it looks like she did not receive.I find this sort of action by the DWP to be downright immoral, as well as causing immense extra stress to elderly people who may not be maths experts, as well as finding it a deeply sinister means of gouging money from soft targets. It seems that they are trying to make executors and beneficiaries pay for their negligence and mistakes. I have already made strong representations to my local MP in order to prevent this sort of thing happening to others.
    As for me, I am defenately not a soft target!

Welcome to MSE.

It is worth checking the date of posts before putting effort into a response - this one is eighteen months old.
  • john539
    john539 Posts: 16,966 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Welcome to MSE.