Police pension can i cash it in

Options
Can i cash my police pension in?
Im a serving police officer and am part of the 30 year pension scheme, i have 10 years service and due to the changes and working conditions i am looking to leave the job. The pension is looking to change in 2015 and i for one will not be signing on to a new scheme. My query is can i cash in my 10 year police pension or transfer it to a scheme i can. I am under 50 years of age also.

Comments

• CannySaver_2
    CannySaver_2 Posts: 482 Forumite
    Options
    No you can't cash it in, not allowed. You could transfer it to another pension but why would you want to?

It's an excellent scheme, far better than almost anything else.

No investment risk, guaranteed indexation, most people without such a scheme would sell their granny to be in your position!

I know these schemes are changing, which is frustrating, but it's still a great scheme.

Stay in it, you won't regret it when you retire.

The Canny Saver
    Always looking for a good deal on my savings, generally risk averse, but always interested in new ideas and new ways of doing things.
  • rpc
    rpc Posts: 2,353 Forumite
    Options
    Can i cash my police pension in?
    Im a serving police officer and am part of the 30 year pension scheme, i have 10 years service and due to the changes and working conditions i am looking to leave the job. The pension is looking to change in 2015 and i for one will not be signing on to a new scheme. My query is can i cash in my 10 year police pension or transfer it to a scheme i can. I am under 50 years of age also.

When you transfer the scheme, how do you expect to get the same benefits anywhere else? (the quick answer is that you won't). The police pension is just about the best pension in the country, although this is partially reflected in the higher contributions. Leaving the scheme, even if you leave the service, would be madness.