2 prices for an extension that are so far apart!

Hi all, we're getting quotes in for an extension to the back of our house, single storey, 2.75 meters wide x 4.3 meters long, mono pitch roof, 2 windows, make a very wide door a little narrower and supply and fit new door, knock a window through to make a doorway between existing building and the extension (dining room and kitchen as it will be).

had 2 builders over last night who have taken copies of the plans to give us proper quotes but both gave a rough "guesstimate" of the cost while they were with us

Builder number 1, said he'd just finished a extension 5m x 3m which he charged £9000 for so ours would be less than that and the work would be done within 4-5 weeks.

Builder number 2, said we would be looking between £15000 and £18000 with a completion time of 8-12 weeks.

now i'm a mechanic and know next to nothing about building but surely 2 builders looking at the same set of plans should be looking at least in the same ballpark?! builder number 2 is quoting potentially double the money and triple the time to complete!

we will of course be getting further quotes to compare but i ended last night feeling a little dazed and confused as i was hoping we would at least have an idea what we should be spending but they were so far apart i'm not even sure i should draw a mid point from it!

any tips on what sort of quotes we should be getting for the work to be done?

many thanks

John

Comments

• phill99
    phill99 Posts: 9,093 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Firstly its Metres, not meters.

Secondly, its not idal to give 'guesstimates' based on site. Both need to undertake full pricing. Just on gut feelijng £9k seems way too low for that kind of area.