Increase in personal tax allowance

I have had to ask my manager to decrease the number of hours for which I am paid (although I will still work the hours) as the new personal tax allowance will take me over the earnings threshold for claiming carer's allowance. I am really angry about this. The coalition government say that they are taking thousands of people out of paying any tax and yet they are doing nothing to help carers to increase their take home pay. I can't earn enough to make it worthwhile not claiming carer's allowance as I work in a school so that I'm at home to look after my disabled son during the school holidays (there's no care (let alone affordable care) for a disabled 15 year old around here). So now, I have to work a small amount for nothing - do you think that's what David Cameron means by the 'big society'!

Comments

• the earnings limit for claiming CA is £100 per week,personal tax allowances have been well above that for many years,so i dont see your point tbh?
  • rogerblack
    rogerblack Posts: 9,446 Forumite
    woodbine wrote: »
    the earnings limit for claiming CA is £100 per week,personal tax allowances have been well above that for many years,so i dont see your point tbh?

It's earnings after several things have been taken out.
    Tax. NI contributions. Expenses wholly and unavoidably due to work. Half your personal pension contributions.

One can, if one wished, and has savings, earn a thousand pounds a week, and claim CA, if you put nearly twice that into a personal pension.

The personal allowance rising means the OP may pay less tax, which - given the same earnings and expenses, will leave them with more income which is not discountable for CA purposes, and take them over the limit.
  • paddedjohn
    paddedjohn Posts: 7,512 Forumite
    First Anniversary
    The new tax allowance will only mean an extra £3 or so per week in your wage packet.
    Be Alert..........Britain needs lerts.
  • rogerblack