starting my own nursing agency

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Small Biz & Charities' MoneySaving
5 replies 644 views
joop123joop123 Forumite
255 Posts
Part of the Furniture Combo Breaker
✭✭
hoping that someone can point me in the right direction.

I am currently working as agency nurse and would be interested in setting up my own agency. I am trying to find further information about how i would go about this, i have tried the web but only found american sites trying to sell me stuff.

Hope someone can help

Replies

• JOOP123,
    Well, speaking as a nurse myself I've also given this idea some thought. There are a number of franchise packages available - but I would tread very warily, they often want a lot of money for......... not much in return. You are often just 'paying for a job' with some franchises, and can just as easily set up on your own.

Bear in mind also that the NHS restructuring over the next few years might mean that you have loads of staff on the books, but no work to offer them!

As to your original question, I don't think you need any 'licence' as such, but am not sure. The answer to success might be to find a 'niche' market outside of NHS staffing.

If you think it's possibly viable PM me -I'm not too far from Kettering - and have been mulling over various business ideas.

PBH
  • Savvy_SueSavvy_Sue Forumite
    43.4K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    You probably would need to get all your applicants CRB checked and then repeat the checks at regular intervals ...

Isn't there a Health and Social Care Council who might be able to help?

Edited to say the one I'm thinking of is the General Social Care Council, probably not relevant. But I found this on the RCN site!
    Still knitting!