SB. Public Liability and what else? Confused!

Options
My boyfriend is in partnership and they are builders who do all sorts of building work, I understand that they must have Public Liability insurance but what else do they need?
There turnover is not great and they do not employ anyone else nor do they intend to in the near future.
Any advice or websites would be greatly appreciated, and I apologise if this has been covered before but I have searched the boards and still could not find what I needed.

Thanks in advance.
Regards

Unicorn

Comments

• Savvy_Sue
    Savvy_Sue Posts: 46,028 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    I am no expert, but I hate to see an unanswered post, so I suggest they think about what else they need to insure because if they lost it their business would be in deep mire. So for example their tools, any materials they keep handy, etc. Presumably these are kept at home, so have they been declared on home insurance? If they have a van - or even if they don't, now I think about it - does the vehicle insurance cover business use? CHECK and make sure the insurance company know how it is used.

Then there's their own health / risk of personal injury. I am not saying they HAVE to have this insurance, especially as it is likely to be expensive, but it is something to think about: how would one cope if the other broke a leg?

Note I have restricted myself to insurance: if you were asking about what else a partnership needs to do because I know nothing!
    Signature removed for peace of mind
  • 1jim
    1jim Posts: 2,663 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    check out this website/link
    http://www.businesslink.gov.uk/bdotg/action/prgl;jsessionid=CDzqNNJbpKK3nl4QyhHtHfnyqYwvT6rQmPs41msFLpTrRF5D2C2K!-938525998!1111749546689?r.li=1075300276&r.l1=1073858805