Real life MMD: Should I charge my bro?

Options
123457»

Comments

• Kimm3000
    Options
    I see this as an interesting one and have signed up just to make a post.

Im a Gas Engineer to trade and do many favours for friends relatives and friends of friends and to be honest it depends on the person your doing the favour for regardless if its a relative or not.

Ive been in situations many times where I have been ripped off by a family members etc for a "favour". So if your going to charge him let him know before hand and write up an agreement so that your not putting either yourself or him in an embarrassing position.

Take care!
  • tgroom57
    tgroom57 Posts: 1,431 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    MSE_Debs wrote: »
    "My brother's asked me to do his PPI claim for him. I was thinking of asking for 10% of the money he'll get back. Do you think I should charge more? Is it worthwhile for me?"

No, It isn't worthwhile for you.
    You can ask all you like, but chances are you won't see anything like 10% of the money.
    Whatever you recover for him in this exercise, he will be disappointed it wasn't more.

I haven't done a PPI claim (yet) -I've seen my #2 daughter's paperwork and it looks like a lot of sorting through her statements to calculate the amount. At least a day's careful work.

Before Christmas I wrote off to claim the uniform allowance for my #1 daughter, explaining to her that it would only be a small amount. When the tax office checked back the 6 years, she had overpaid tax (separate from uniform claim). She received a cheque for over £350 - a substantial amount for either of us. Out of that, she gave me £10 for Christmas.

For my adult children I do this, as financial 'first aid' - but not for my sibling / sister. Send him the links to the MSE page and expect him to do it himself.
  • birkee
    birkee Posts: 1,933 Forumite
    Options
    lclark wrote: »