31 and a teacher, bad credit and applying for a mortgage! HELP!

Options
Hi all

I am 31 and earn £2700 pa as a teacher I have a deposit of £15k saved but a bad credit rating of 400 on equifax and around two stars on 'check my file' it includes a default which drops off in august this year and an old mobile phone default from 2009 ( i was unaware of) which has now been satisfied. I have only one other credit card with £500 limit from capital one which i use and pay every month in an effort to enhance my rating. I have no other debt. My question is this will I get a mortgage on my own? is it even worth applying? and if so - who to? I have been with Natwest bank for 10 years and have three accounts with them -is it worth applying to them?

I know the answer is probably wait and build credit but I was hoping to go P/T at work to persue a business oportunity in another area but I know I would never get a mortgage then!!!

I welcome any thoughts and advice

Comments

• holly_hobby
    holly_hobby Posts: 5,363 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    edited 30 January 2012 at 1:11PM
    Options
    Hi,

Firstly I must say that knowing you will be going PT and entering into a new business venture, would encourage me to refrain from going into any longterm high financial commitment - until at least your new source of income is established and frequent.

That being said, the older the default the less impact it can have on an application, but this is wholly dependant upon the amount of default, reason for the default and why you have chosen not to satisfy it over the last 6 yrs (but have chosen to save a 15k depsit instead). So, knowing that such q's may be asked, just think about what info you will provide to the lender if requested.