ISAs v Pensions: The Official Retirement Debate

Options

Comments

• david6508
    Options
    Hi Everyone i am newbie here i hope you will be fine , i did recently join this forum .The problem with ISAs was the determined to dip into before retirement, so I find out the rule - keep money into a pension first and then The pension fan can be ideal for the higher rate taxpayer who will be a basic founder rate taxpayer in retirement. 60% relief going in and 27% coming out.t money into an ISA.!!!
  • N1AK
    N1AK Posts: 2,903 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    I've seriously considered stopping my pension payments. My conclusion was that the employer matching makes it worthwhile but I wouldn't contribute beyond that.

It will be around 40 years until I retire. The risk with a pension is that the benefits, taxes etc related to this can change and you're reliant on the provider and nation to ensure you receive it. Savings/investments are certainly not immune to these kinds of risks; however you do have more control and can spread those risks more easily.

The big advantage of a pension (or an endowment generally) is that it acts as insurance. If you have enough money that you cannot possibly imagine living long enough that it will run out then live off of it; however unless you do, relying on savings means trying to estimate how long you have left and what you need to keep back.
    Having a signature removed for mentioning the removal of a previous signature. Blackwhite bellyfeel double plus good...
  • dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,597 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options