"Optional"?

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Reclaim PPI & Other Insurance
2 replies 782 views
JobogoboboJobogobobo Forumite
1 Post
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Reclaim PPI & Other Insurance
Hi,

I had two loans and two HP agreements which I would like to try and claim back PPI for.

I have gone through the checklist and the paperwork (I'm an Admin I throw NOTHING out!) and am struggling to define whether I might have a case.

It appears that on the paper work we have had to initial next to amounts for PPI and the word optional is used on the paperwork, which also refers us to T&Cs (which funnily enough I don't have-and can't remember ever having despite the fact I have everthing else). These loans and HP agreements were from 2004 and 5 and at the time both of us were not fully savvy about things...(he still isn't but I make up for that!) and until the furore about PPI began, I thought we had to buy it from the FI used and that it was a T&C of the loans. Both the loans were "bought" over the phone and the HP was with GMAC (Vauxhall) for cars.

Sorry, my question. Is it worth pursuing in anyones opinion? I have had several calls from PPI claim companies, one of which I entertained for twenty minutes and I must admit their interest in pursuing it, knowing all the above, has me thinking it might be worth it (although not through them!)

Thanks

Replies

• sazzersazzer Forumite
    27 Posts
    Part of the Furniture Combo Breaker
    Whatever you decide I would suggest not going through a claims company. They will take a large percentage of the money if you win and they won't do anything more than you can do yourself.

For example with my credit card, I didn't request any info, I literally sent a tempate letter (downloadable from Internet) with my credit card number detailing why i felt it was misold. Within a month I had a letter confirming they would uphold my complaint and I'm now 8k better off.