Are uni fees covered by sale of goods and services act?

Options
I ask because I am a first year student, but its my second degree. When I applied I declared that it was my second degree, and the university have seen a copy of my first degree (as in the piece of paper I was handed on my graduation). My conditional offer letter stated my fees would be £3375, as did my actual offer letter. I have paid one instalment of this year's fees, which was a third of said £3375. The problem arises because as this is my second degree, I think the university should be charging me more money, closer to 9 grand.
Am I covered by the sale of goods and services act? I would never have undertaken this degree if it had been offered to me at the higher price, it is unaffordable for me.

Thanks.

PS I'm sorry if I should have posted somewhere else instead of starting a new thread. Forum mods please feel free to move this if it should be elsewhere

Comments

• tomjonesrules
    Options
    Why not ask the question to the university before trying to find a way out of paying?
  • custardy
    custardy Posts: 38,365 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    If you are doing a degree course,why would it be more?
    or is it a masters course?
  • zenmaster
    zenmaster Posts: 3,151 Forumite
    Options
    You are a student.

You can drop out any time you choose.
  • Oldernotwiser
    Oldernotwiser Posts: 37,425 Forumite
    Options
    custardy wrote: »
    If you are doing a degree course,why would it be more?
    or is it a masters course?

Students who already have an undergraduate degree have to pay overseas student rates.
  • arcon5
    arcon5 Posts: 14,099 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    This isn't a Sales of Goods & Services Act issue, its a contractual issue. Has the contract been signed and price agreed?
  • arcon5
    arcon5 Posts: 14,099 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker