🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Submit your suggestions via this form or post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

Wife refuses to sign rx1

Options
Hi, I have been in an IVA since September 2006, due to a dip in wages in 2009 I could not afford mp, so a variation meeting was held, I reduced mp and increased term to six years. When I took IVA out my property was valued at £192k with a mortgage of £170k, the IP worked out a payment of £7954 in lieu of equity, since then the house value has dropped to £175k. I am now in my final year of IVA but a bit worried about what is going to happen as I am unable to pay £7954 as no equity. Can you please advice what my options are, spoke with IP and they said see what the situation is in June and see what money can get hold of then. I am worried as I have spent last 5years battling away and I don't want IVA to fail

One other problem is it is a joint mortgage and my ex-wife is refusing to sign rx1 form to register with land registry. This is a condition of the IVA and they could fail it on that basis. I have negative equity of £5K according to a reviewed valuation I received today. So worried about this whole situation feel like last 5years could be wasted

Comments

• themull1
    themull1 Posts: 4,299 Forumite
    Options
    my friend is in the same boat, he was told if he had negative equity he could have the iva extended instead.
  • FoggyBrain_2
    Options